FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE March 6, 2023

SUPERINTENDENT SHAFER CONGRATULATES EASTSIDE MIGHTY GHOSTS ON WINNING LEAGUE HONORS

Contact: Paul Brubaker

973-518-2298

Six student-athletes win Big North, Liberty Division honors, Head Coach Webb wins Coach of the Year

PATERSON – Superintendent of Schools Eileen Shafer today congratulated members of the Group IV State Champion Passaic County Championship-winning Eastside Mighty Ghosts Basketball team for winning Big North Conference's Liberty Division honors for the 2022-2023 season.

"I extend my warmest congratulations to the members of the Eastside Mighty Ghosts Basketball Team for their outstanding performance and well-deserved recognition in the league," said Superintendent of Schools Eileen F. Shafer. "These accomplishments are testaments to the unwavering dedication and hard work of each and every member of the team, from Head Coach Marquis Webb and through every member of the team. The Mighty Ghosts have shown exceptional sportsmanship, perseverance, and teamwork throughout this championship-winning season, and their success is a true inspiration to all. We are immensely proud of their achievements."

Named as the Big North Conference Liberty Division Coach of the Year is Head Coach Marquis Webb

Named to the Big North Conference Liberty Division First Team are:

- Bryce Stokes, Guard, Senior
- Preston Brown, Guard, Senior
- Treyvon Watson, Center, Senior

Senior Guard Jaheim Best and Freshman Guard Justin Bethea have been named to the Big North Conference Liberty Division Second Team and Sophomore Guard Exavier Cueva was given an honorable mention.

The announcement was made after the Mighty Ghosts won their first Group IV State Championship title since 2015 by defeating the Egg Harbor Eagles, 52-45, at Rutgers University's Jersey Mike's Arena on Saturday.

The Eastside Mighty Ghosts, the Eastside Lady Ghosts, and the Eastside High School cheerleaders are scheduled to be honored by the district and the Board of Education at the board's meeting on Wednesday, March 8, at 6 p.m. at the Joseph A. Taub School.

###